AIA Charlotte / UNC Charlotte Traveling Fellowship

The Traveling Fellowship Program is hosted and funded in conjunction with the UNC Charlotte School of Architecture. The purpose of the program is to recognize and reward excellence in the study of architectural design and to provide the opportunity for travel and exploration in the continuation of that study. The Traveling Fellowship is awarded to a UNC Charlotte SoA student for travel and study in or out of the continental USA the summer following the award. All UNC Charlotte SoA students who meet the minimum eligibility requirements are encouraged to apply and take advantage of this opportunity to conduct research abroad. Full details may be found on the UNC Charlotte website.

Previous Winners

2019 Nick Sturm Hong Kong
2018 Richard Cottrell  Japan
2017 Julia Atkins Ireland
2016 Nicole Peterson Amsterdam
2015  Lucas Flint Spain
2014 Emily Dallmeyer Cuba
2013 Blake Monteith India
2012 Keihly Moore Netherlands/Germany
2011 Michael Bowen Australia
2010 Houston Burnette Japan
2009 Antonio Martinez Nigeria, Ghana & West Africa
2008 Patrick Willett Cologne, Germany
2007 Heather Skinner Spain
2007  Aleksandra Antonyuk Netherlands
2006 Josh Padgett Barcelona, Spain
2005 Matt Stone Japan
2005  Jeff Scott Germany
2004 Chris Johnson South Africa
2003 Toni Mainville India
2003  Beth Morrison Southeast US
2002 Ryan G. Carver Germany & Switzerland
2001 Scott M. Cryer Osaka, Japan
2000 Jeffrey Ludlow Colombia, South America
1999 Mauricio Ulloa Italy
1998 Edward Read Japan
1997 Brian Widener Paris, France
1996 Barbara Reed Brazil
1995 David B. Daniel Japan
1994 Brian Scott Netherlands
1993 Dominic Lizama Belize City, South America
1992 Chris Allen Helsinki, Finland
1991 Daniel Forest Canada
1990 Michael Dunning Ireland
1989 Kevin Hayes France
1988 Donald Conti Italy
1987 Frank Vagnone Italy
1986 Eric Lindstrom United States
1985 Eric Collier Japan
1984 Tony Miller Italy
1983 Alan McGuinn  
1982 Paul Buckler East/West Coast USA
1981 Charles Travis III Northeast USA
1980 Wayne Simpson London, Paris & Italy
1979 Eric Holterman Japan
1978 Larry Cauble/Marty Marion Southwest US
1977 Lynn Stiles Mexico
1976 Robert Jolly Scotland/Great Britain