Contract Documents   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Design Awards
Share |

Congratulations 2016 Design & Service Award Winners

The 2017 call for submissions will be released in spring 2017 and the Design Awards Gala will be in June.

Congratulations 2015 Design & Service Award Winners

2015 Gala photo gallery

2015 Design Jury Chair

Larry Speck, FAIA is well known equally for his diverse portfolio of award-winning architecture and his distinguished career as an inspiring educator. As a prolific author and influential critic, Larry also has contributed significantly to the development of ideas that have broadened the general public's understanding of the impact that buildings have on their communities and the way they live, work and play.

From 1992 to 2001 Larry served as Dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Texas at Austin, where he has been a member of the faculty since 1975. More recently, he has been a potent agent for change within the larger University of Texas community, which includes helping the university design its future.

He also has served on advisory boards for architectural schools at M.I.T., the University of Michigan, Tulane University, LSU, Cranbrook and the University of Nevada at Las Vegas.

Larry is a fellow in the American Institute of Architects and served as chair of the jury to select AIA Fellows in 2005. He has also served on the Architectural Advisory Board for the U.S. State Department Overseas Building Operations, as a National Peer Reviewer for the U. S. General Services Administration Design Excellence Program and on the boards of national environmental groups such as Greenguard Environmental Institute and Air Quality Sciences.

After growing up in a small town on the Gulf Coast of Texas, Larry studied at M.I.T. and earned two undergraduate degrees, one in Art and Design from the School of Architecture and one in Management from the Sloan School, and a Master of Architecture. Source:

2015 Design Awards Jury

Kevin Alter is the Sid W. Richardson Centennial Professor of Architecture at The University of Texas at Austin. He is a graduate of Bennington College and of Harvard University. His professional practice, alterstudio architecture, llp, has received more than ninety design awards and been widely published, including the recently published book, Alterstudio Architecture: 6 Houses. Editor of eleven books, his writing has also appeared in Architecture, Progressive Architecture, and Architectural Design, among other journals and books, and he has curated sixteen exhibitions that have been shown in numerous venues internationally. He has been a visiting critic, reviewer, lecturer and visiting professor at dozens of institutions around the world.





As a founding principal of Studio Balcones, Ilse Frank investigates projects through cross platform methodologies of architecture, landscape architecture, and city and regional planning. Ilse designs for the future, considering how forecasted planning issues shape a design and establish long term impacts beyond the site boundary. At a finer scale, Ilse approaches public space and parks in tandem with buildings— addressing scalar, material, and inside/outside relationships.

A native of Austin, Ilse Frank holds two Masters Degrees in Landscape Architecture and City Planning from The University of Pennsylvania and Bachelor of Architecture from The University of Texas at Austin. Prior to starting Studio Balcones, Ilse worked abroad and on the East Coast at West 8, Balmori Associates, Margie Ruddick, and WRT.

2015 Residential Awards Jury Chairs

Jane Frederick, FAIA, a ninth-generation Southerner, is heavily influenced by her fascination with how her forbearers lived in harmony with the harsh southern climate: her great-great grandmother operated a ferry boat across the Escatawpa River in Mississippi and her great-great grandparents lived in a dogtrot-style house in Alabama.

Jane is dedicated to a close client collaborative to ensure that every clients' house meets their aspirations. She designs the interior finishes to reflect the lifestyle of the homeowner and seamlessly connect the house to the site.

She received her Bachelor of Architecture from Auburn University. Jane is a Fellow in the Aspen Global Leadership Network and currently serves on the American Institute of Architects Board as the South Atlantic Regional Director. In 2012, Jane was awarded Fellowship by the American Institute of Architects for her service to the profession.


Michael Frederick’s knowledge of historical and vernacular architecture, coupled with his keen ability to combine timeless architectural truths with current advancements, enable him to create award-winning custom residences that celebrate the region’s architectural and natural heritage while exceeding client expectations and providing high, lasting value. Michael received his Bachelor of Architecture from Auburn University.

Over the years, Michael’s dedication to excellence has continued to shine through as he has involved himself with various local and regional organizations. When he is not busy in the studio drawing or water coloring, you can find him around town rowing, running, bicycling, fishing, and kayaking.

Although he values his involvement in these activities, Michael’s true passion centers on creating sustainable architecture that connects people to their environment. Building and restoring existing architecture that provides spaces that enhance our day to daily lives and restore and preserve the natural systems that sustain life is his goal. Source: 


Thank you to our Sponsors:
















Entry Form - EXTENDED DATE: Due by Friday, Jan. 23, 2015 (along with entry fees)

New in 2015: Pay for submissions online HERE >>

2015 Submission Criteria

Submission Forms (PDFs)

Descriptive Data - Design

Descriptive Data - Landscape

Descriptive Data - Residential

Photo Release

Concealed Identification 


Past Design Awards

2014 Winning Submissions   2014 Gala Photos

2013 Winning Submissions

2013 Awards Gala Video

Video Credit: Brian Kasher, PSI
Photo Credit: Neil Asher, Balfour Beatty

2012 Winning Submissions 


Thank you to our Annual Platinum Sponsors


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal